MACHINE Is The Key Word Here

I have been intrigued of late by our new bread machine. After all, now that I am around the house more these days, why not fool around with it some. I can still be manly about it because it is a machine, right? Like most machines, I discovered this one had a users guide which could be valuable, and a small learning curve.

So the other day I set out to create my first ever loaf of bread. I liked the sound of a mozzarella cheese and black olive loaf. I followed the instructions to the gram. The house smelled great. The loaf turned out to be a suitable boat anchor. As a rookie, I did not know where I went wrong. No image included for obvious reasons

Yesterday I tried a Brioche because I liked the ingredient list a lot. A Brioche is a pastry of French origin that is similar to a highly enriched bread, and whose high egg and butter content give it a rich and tender Bread Machine Briochecrumb. It is “light and slightly puffy, more or less fine, according to the proportion of butter and eggs. It has a dark, golden, and flaky crust. This did not sound like a boat anchor at all. It turned out beautiful!! Here is a photo of the finished loaf.

Emboldened by success, today I set out to build a very unique loaf of bread, the Hot Buttered Rum Loaf. It exceeded all expectations! I was even confident enough to tweak the recipe a bit to suit my vision of the end result. Photos and recipe to follow.

I am thinking that I OWN that bread machine . . . . but wait, I really do. This actual photo of today’s project was not the image I had wanted. Before I could stop myself, I cut off the end piece and devoured it. The photo of the beautiful whole loaf was lost in the triumphant moment of sensual delights that I could not resist. However this image still conveys the message, yes?

Bread Machine Hot Buttered Rum Loaf

Hot Buttered Rum Loaf

Fresh Hot Buttered Rum Loaf right out of the bread machine.

It’s a recipe like this that makes you doubly glad you have a bread machine. Warm spices, rum flavors and sweet brown sugar. Can you say French Toast?! Recommend setting machine for a 1½ pound loaf. Also, a bread machine with a rectangular pan such as Cuisinart machine yields a better slicing loaf with topping on each slice.

Ingredients:

Bread:

1 egg + enough water to measure 1 cup
2 tablespoons dark rum or 1 tablespoon rum extract
3 tablespoons butter, softened
3 cups + 1 tablespoon King Authur bread flour
3 tablespoons packed brown sugar
1 1/4 teaspoons fine sea salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
1¼ teaspoons bread machine or active dry yeast

Nutty Topping:

1 egg yolk, beaten
½ teaspoon water
2 tablespoons finely chopped pecans
2 tablespoons packed brown sugar

Directions:

1 Into 2 cup measuring Pyrex, break 1 egg. Add enough water to measure 1 cup. Mix briefly with a fork. Pour egg mixture and remaining bread ingredients in bread machine pan in the order recommended by the manufacturer. Always place yeast on top of flour last so as to not activate it too soon.

2 Select Basic White cycle. Use Medium or Light crust color. Do not use delay cycle.

Nutty Topping

With 40 minutes to go in bake cycle, carefully brush on nutty topping.

3 In small bowl, mix all topping ingredients. About 40 to 50 minutes before bread is finished, lift cover of bread machine and carefully brush topping on top of loaf, being careful not to push down on loaf too much. Close lid to continue with cycle. When done, remove baked bread from pan; cool on cooling rack.

What’s next? HEY, is that my wife’s sewing MACHINE over there?? Remember James Garner as Murphy Jones in Murphy’s Romance? “Just give me a Butterick pattern and a bolt of cloth and I am all set.”

Perhaps another time. I should leave something for future discovery.

About Old Bent Nail

Observer, Baby-boomer, Old Dog learning new tricks! My interests are few but varied, from my crafty, precious wife, to Beekeeping, Photography, Home & Garden, Drag Racing and Veterans Affairs.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Creations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

